Chinese Year of the Fire Rooster

Indigo2crystal


index-element141

Photo courtesy of ceramic artist, Tammy Leigh Brooks.  http://www.tammyleighbrooks.com/

This coming Saturday, January 28, 2017, heralds in the Chinese New Year. Chinese astrology has twelve signs just like western astrology does. Each sign also has five elements of metal, wood, fire, water, and earth. It takes 60 years to cycle through all of them. The last time there was a Fire Rooster year was in 1957. Celebrations begin in New Year’s Eve or on January 27 and continue through February 2, 2017. Nothing like a week long party is there? Sadly, I am not longer young enough to want to party all night, let alone all week.

Like many other nationalities, the Chinese celebrate with light and sound. Firecrackers, fireworks, bells, drums and the traditional lion dances are all part of the celebration. Children, unmarried teens, and adults are given red envelopes with money inside. Red is considered the luckiest…

View original post 764 more words

Author: Grandtrines

Like so many people, I am a paradox. I am a politically conservative vegetarian. I am from a Christian background, and still tend to like those values, but am a metaphysical astrologer trained in science who has an interest in the magic of ancient Egypt and a weird belief that some piece of our essence can live on a server. I live in Texas, but like chatting with my international Wordpress pals the best. I learn by teaching. Technically, I am a "Leo," but I am very, very Aquarian with a dose of Scorpio. I bitterly complain about Algol (and Algol personaliites), yet it is the one star that defines me most (other than Regulus). (Which, oddly, makes me an Algol personality.) I am a reclusive lover of peace and quiet who has the Ascendant in the Via Combusta (the most conflict ridden part of the zodiac). I am an incredibly private person with a blog with over 800 followers and 50 to 150 regular daily visitors. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.